Industrial Organization

The focus of the research group is on firm strategy in specific markets. The aim of the group is to contribute to the understanding of markets. In industrial organization that might be to understand how competition works in order to improve firm profitability and design of competition policy and specific market regulation to ensure effective competition and economic efficiency. The research group covers a wide set of projects within industrial organization, covering several industries such as banking, telecommunications, media, shipping, logistics, pharmaceuticals, etc. The research group also covers more general and broader topics in competition policy, taxation and regulation. Principals comprise private companies, public government bodies, the Research Council of Norway and the European Commission.

The research group comprises a large group of highly experienced researchers within the fields of industrial organization, but also talented young researchers with top analytical skills. 

Selected projects

  • Hi-Drive - Addressing challenges toward the deployment of higher automation
  • Media competition and media policy
  • Subsitution and Ownership in the Norwegian Newspaper Market
  • Digital platforms and product recommendation systems
  • Cartel policy the Nordic countries
  • Auction design for renewables
  • Strategic barriers to entry and expansion in grocery retailing
  • Competition policy and strategy: the interplay between consumers, upstream and downstream market players
  • Industrial organization of legal and illegal cartels: Dynamics in collusion over time and jurisdiction 
  • New aspects of competition in media and network markets: Implications for competition policy? 
  • Skattesenteret 
  • SHIPTRACK - Improving ship and cargo tracking with multi-source spatial data
  • SMARTDIGITAL - Smart digital contracts and commercial management
  • Climate Futures
  • OPTINORFARM - Economic and Environmental Optimization of Norwegian Farms

Research Director

Professor Malin Arve, NHH
Phone: +47 55 95 91 52


Assistant Research Director

Senior Researcher Armando José Garcia Pires, SNF
Phone: +47 55 95 96 22



  • PhD Candidate Paulo Azevedo jr. (SNF)
  • Postdoctoral Researcher Rasmus Bang (SNF)
  • Senior Researcher Afsaneh Bjorvatn (SNF)
  • Senior Researcher Emeritus Per Heum (SNF)
  • Senior Researcher Arnt Ove Hopland (SNF)
  • Postdoctoral Researcher Ole-Andreas Næss (SNF)
  • Senior Researcher Armando José Garcia Pires (SNF)
  • Researcher Frode Skjeret (SNF)
  • Researcher Zhenming Wu (SNF)
  • Professor Kurt Richard Brekke (NHH/SNF)
  • Professor Øystein Foros (NHH/SNF)
  • Associate Professor Julio Cesar Goez (NHH/SNF)
  • Professor Mario Guajardo (NHH/SNF)
  • Professor Haiying Jia (NHH/SNF)
  • Professor Hans Jarle Kind (NHH/SNF)
  • Postdoctoral Researcher Gabriel Fuentes Lezcano (NHH/SNF)
  • Associate Professor Emeritus Karl Rolf Pedersen (NHH/SNF)
  • Professor Mohammed Mardan (NHH/SNF)
  • Associate Professor Aksel Mjøs (NHH/SNF)
  • Professor Jarle Møen (NHH/SNF)
  • Professor Øivind Anti Nilsen (NHH/SNF)
  • Associate Professor Sigrid Lise Nonås (NHH/SNF)
  • Professor Guttorm Schjelderup (NHH/SNF)
  • Professor Emerita Siri Pettersen Strandenes (NHH/SNF)
  • Associate Professor Morten Sæthre (NHH/SNF)
  • Professor Lars Sørgard (NHH/SNF)
  • Professor Stig Tenold (NHH/SNF)
  • Associate Professor Øyvind Thomassen (NHH/SNF)
  • Professor Stein W. Wallace (NHH/SNF)